I am an avid music listener. At times I think I was supposed to be a musician.

I can sing, I can dance, I have the face for it, and I definitely have the attitude for it. In my next life I will definitely choose to be the next Cardi B. Ohh and I am a Hip Hop Groupie. I unceremoniously confess to that, no two-way about it. Music to me is like fresh air, it sets the tone for a new day, it sets the tone for a mood and with music I have created so much fond memories, my cup overflowed.

I am an intense woman. I do everything with passion and vigour. So when I listen to good music, I feel it with every inch of my body, and most of the time I would sing along.

So this one year, Alicia Keys, dropped a new album and I just had to have it. I was dating some useless Grandpa, yes Grandpa, that my cousin hooked me up with.

But my cousin always plays cupid in my life and the guys I end up dating cause of her, has always been train wrecks, I have told her since whenever she would spin me with that line, I want you to meet someone, that I am not interested.

So Grandpa was in SA and had to buy me the album there since it hits the shelves first there, and off course Grandpa suffered from some lying illness, does all SA men not suffer from that? No pun intended. He never brought the album, but brought a bag of lies and not one gift for his younger girlfriend, and no to your next question, I do not have daddy issues… and if I have it is none of anyone’s business. Anyways, I ended up buying the album for myself, and I listened to it, on a CD player, feels so foreign to tell you about a CD player and Hi Fi systems. Technology has evolved from that. So Uncle Bae aka Grandpa also wanted to listen to my album that I have purchased locally and off course I refused. Like is he feeling some type of pain or what. Men can take chances I tell you.

I honoured family tradition and left for holiday at home, by the sea. My cousin joined in. My cousin, is a year younger than me and she is a Scorpio woman, with a whole lot of crazy, but I love her to death, she is the same one who always hook me up with them train wrecks. We always hang out together, we always get sloshed together, I always try to make her kiss other boys when her guy is not around, but she is too scared….but fun we always have… she will tell you about it. And the next day we will laugh until we cannot no longer about the things we did and said…

So we visited my brother for the Christmas holidays and we wanted to have a drink and loads of ciggies but we couldn’t do that in front of the older generation so we resorted to the garage. Imagine, a slay queen like me chilling in a garage on Christmas Day, oh so Christmas Day in our tradition is to stay at home, stuff your face and not go nowhere…. you can have a nap and wake up and have a drink but your foot not outside that house madam… weird traditions, the next day, the 26th of December, you can go all Kaboom on the neighbourhood by going to Dollies..or to the beach.. in your two piece…. what a sight for sore sore eyes…

So back to the garage, Alicia Keys in background, me and cousin and beers..and a whole lot of memory lane and unspoken feelings….

Ice cold beers, any Namibian would tell you  that an Ice Cold beer is what salt is to a good meal, you cannot go without it, and it is pure sin and so tasty. We had one beer after the other, cause you see my brother had this old fridge in his garage that would chill the drinks within minutes. And it was as if our thirst was unquenchable, I was stuck on someone, story of my life and I was dating someone else, who clearly had feet of clay and was a dinosaur….aka an uncle bae, lol, uncle bae even proposed after mum passed away, thinking I am now a billionare, he is a punk righ?  and there was that song of Alicia….. Try sleeping with a broken heart…… I still remember those lyrics…. it felt as if my sister Alicia, wrote those lyrics for me, all the way in Namibia, as if she knew my pain, my struggles….

”and all the time you were telling me lies,

so tonight, I’m gonna find a way to make it without you…”

 

I still get goosebumps when I listen to that song. And high in spirits me and my cousin made pacts with each other, not to fall for punks no more… laugh out loud, another story of both our lives….

 

Thank you Alicia, for beautiful music oh and off course that funky purple cat suit in that music video!

xoxo

writings of a cuvy scorpio

 

Leave a comment